How to make earrings with feathers

August 22, 2010

I have some feathers stood in the closet for a long time and I haven´t found the opportunity to use them. Then one day, as I was searching for material at my nearby art goods store I had an idea. They sell wooden blanks which you can use for many things. I bought these little blanks and some lovely acrylic colours which fitted fine with feathers. I went home and started to figure out what to do next.

Things you will need

Make sure that you have everything before getting started!

Feathers.

Small wooden blanks.

Acrylic colours. I got Wedding pink, Water green and Sun yellow.

Synthetic hair brush. It should be made with synthetic hair because it  gives you a smoother finish than other brushes.

And of course you´ll also need some earring wires, transparent varnish and  hot glue pistol.

Next you should:

Colour blanks

Apply some transparent varnish

Glue the feathers to blanks. Use a hot glue pistol.

I hope you remember that before adding new layer of colour or varnish you should let the first layer dry completely!

Finally add earring wires. I used the most simple ones. And here they are, ready to wear.

I think this is a GREAT gift idea. I’m going to make many of these and give them as Christmas and birthday gifts. All you family members out there, ignore what you just read! 😆

Wedding pink

Water green

Sun yellow

Leave a Reply

