Lightbox

August 2, 2010

So today I made my first lightbox. I used a big cardboard box and a calque. Lightbox can be very helpful if you want to get simple and effective pictures. It provides light diffusion and a uniform background against which to place your piece. You can put some daylight lamps outside the box and lighten your box outside through the calque so the light inside the box would no be too sharp. If you head the lamp directly on your pieces, the light will be too sharp and then some ugly shadows are the result.

Here is the example lightbox picture with my handmade bracelet .

Well it is quite OK but I have to say that I still prefer scattered sunlight like on the picture below.

This picture was taken in a large studio. We have there a large spacious windows with white blinds. Because it was a very sunny day, I let the blinds down, so the light was soft but still bright for taking photos.

If you want to make your own lightbox then you can find a tutorial HERE!!!

One Response to “Lightbox”

  1. These are gorgeous earrings! I purchased them for my daughter along with the matching necklace. She wears them on special occasions. They are really nice and look great with shorter hair.

Leave a Reply

